News & Events

of the Peripheral Nerve Society

Congratulations to the 2023 PNS Alan J. Gebhart Prize Recipients

Jul 17, 2023

By Richard Lewis, MD, Immediate Past President, PNS

Each year, we award the prestigious Alan J. Gebhart Prize for Excellence in Peripheral Nerve Research during our awards ceremony at the PNS Annual Meeting. This award recognizes an Active PNS Member’s ongoing contributions to our mission of “improving the lives of people with peripheral neuropathies.” The unrestricted cash prize is awarded to an established researcher in the peripheral nerve field. This year the award is shared between two members who have made outstanding conributions to the field. 

Claudia Sommer, MD, University Hospital Würzburg, Würzburg, Germany

Claudia Sommer is Professor of Neurology at the University of Würzburg in Germany. She is the quintessential translational clinician scientist, with a broad range of interests. She is an outstanding physician who has made incredible contributions to our understanding of inflammatory neuropathies, neuropathic pain, and small fiber neuropathies. These contributions have been clinical, pathologic, and immunologic. Author of over 300 papers, Claudia has been a model and mentor of many young investigators, many of whom who have attended the PNS Annual Meeting. She is the immediate past president of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) and has served the PNS in multiple capacities. She is a most deserving recipient of this prize.

Pieter van Doorn, MD, PhD, Erasmus Medical Center in Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Pieter van Doorn is Professor of Neurology at Erasmus Medical Center in The Netherlands. You cannot talk about GBS or inflammatory neuropathies without citing multiple papers that Pieter had a major hand in creating. His work on diagnosis, prognosis, predictive models, and treatment has been comprehensive. He has over 350 publications on a range of topics, and not just inflammatory neuropathies.  He is the Immediate Past President of the PNS, was Chair of the Inflammatory Neuropathy Consortium (INC), and he leads the EAN/PNS GBS Guidelines Taskforce (the guideline is soon to be published). Pieter is a wonderful friend and mentor to many of us.